I don’t know what you would call what I did, however, ‘odd’
was one of the more polite terms used.
This afternoon I waxed my eyebrows, moustache, had a bath,
put on a full Face of make-up (minus the red lips as I didn’t want to look too
vampy at 3.30pm on a Friday), layered my fat pants under my jeans- which, I
think just pushed all of the fat up but at least my boobs looked good. Then I
had a slight panic when I realised there was nothing I could do about my
growing second chin apart from looking up towards the sky or curbing my fast
food habit (but it was too late for that), so, I pushed that worry to the side
and put on my new top, resisted the urge to have a cigarette as I didn’t want
to smell like fag ash Lil, took a big gulp of my banana milk from my wine glass
and got in the car.
Why did I go to all of this craziness? Because I was going
to pick up my step-kids from their mum’s, (AKA my fiancés ex), for the first
time. My partner usually gets the kids, so I’ve never needed to meet
her...until now.
Have I completely lost the plot? Is this normal ‘seeing your
partner’s ex for the first time’ behaviour? I am not worried about her, she’s
engaged, I’m engaged, but for some reason the whole charade of what I did
seemed like a good idea.
Has anyone else done this when going to meet THE EX?


